Skip to main content
The Mental Health Council of Tasmania (MHCT) is a member based peak body. We represent and promote the interests of community managed mental health services and have a strong commitment to enabling better access and outcomes for every Tasmanian.
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Have an account?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome and getting started

Kristal
Casual Contributor

Newly diagnosed PTSD

Hi there, firstly thank you for having this forum, and thanks to everyone contributing.

i am an ex psych nurse, recently diagnosed with complex PTSD, I have really been struggling with day to day life- not been working for almost 2 years- horrid vaccine injury( a whole other story), but basically despite regular engagement with psychiatrist and psychologist- I am very isolated.

since loosing my job I became homeless for a period of time lived in a vehicle, then a shelter for domestic violence and now am thankfully in community housing.

One would think- problem solved , right?

not to be ungrateful- because I am very grateful- but my mental health despite treatment and attempts at medication recovery seems to evade me.

I feel more “crazy” than ever - I have no social interaction or suppprt only my one son who is an adult and close by- but I’m mindful how much what I have been thru has affected him- 

I have applied for a support worker but the wait list is extensive and I still have not been allocated a support worker.